Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

1990 C1500 2WD woman inquiry. Truck hesitates intermittently

Search this Thread

Old February 11th, 2011, 11:16 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1990 C1500 2WD woman inquiry. Truck hesitates intermittently

Hi, I am not experienced, and inquiring about my son's 1990 silverado c1500 2wd. He recently got his transmission rebuilt, and had front end ailentment work done. When he first got it back and drove up hill it would jerk or hesitate a little. He thought maybe it was having trouble shifting, and took it back to the shop. They said his tranmission was fine, and changed his fuel filter. The truck is doing the same thing and more often now. Any advice on where to start is appreciated. They truck has 185K miles, had a new exhaust put in about two years ago.
He had an error code about the EGR valve. Would that cause this?
(His vacuum pressure seems to be fine when the problem happens). Like mentioned, I am not experienced, but mechanically inclined and have a background in electronics. Thank you.
Old February 12th, 2011, 3:44 PM
CF Junior Member

is it an automatic transmission? does the transmission downshift when hesitating?
Old February 12th, 2011, 7:37 PM
CF Beginner

Yes, the EGR would do that. It doesn't sound like a tranny issue to me either, it sounds like the engine is bogging down. Which would be caused by a lack of fuel (most likely), air (less likely), or bad spark (even less likely). Fuel filter actually sounds like a good place to start. Fuel pump is a possibility, injectors are a possibility, EGR is a possibility, clogged cat(s) are a possibility, dirty spark plugs are a possibility. Quite a few others to, but I would check those first.
Old February 13th, 2011, 10:45 PM
CF Beginner