Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

1998 Silverado not running right,

Search this Thread

Old December 7th, 2008, 4:55 PM
CF Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1998 Silverado not running right,

Got a 1998 2500HD with close to 190K

I have been messing with it for the last 4 months trying to get it to run right, but it is getting worse every week and am down to almost not being able to get where i need to go with a loaded trailer, and i need this thing for work.

It started out with the truck holding back when putting it to the floor, if i let of a bit it would shift and take of like it should but if i didn't let up it would just hold back and kinda stutter
Afew weeks later it would hold back at times at half throttleand then it would run great for a while and go back to running like crap, i have been trying to find a pattern but there doesn't seem to be one, weather, load, fuel, etc

Last spring it got a cap, rotor, crank sensor, couple weeks ago new plugs, wires. Cats are now also clean.... just put in a new o2 sensormass airflow and AIT sensor this week

After cleaning the cats it ran a bit better when it seem to feel right, but the times that it did not feel right it didn't make a difference

Sorry it forgot to mention it has 5.7 with 4L80E behind it 4wh, ext cab long bed

Now it seems to flood out if i give it more than 1/4 throttle if i give it just a bit of throttle it will pull heavy trailer up to 40 mile an hour but takes a few miles to get there, in 4 low it acts the same.

The amount of throttle it will accept seems to get less and less by the day