Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

2007 2500HD Trans/ Torq. Conv. Problems

Search this Thread

Old February 7th, 2013, 11:38 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007 2500HD Trans/ Torq. Conv. Problems

Hello,

First off this is my first time using this forum.

Anyways. I have the following problem with my 2007 2500HD.

About 4-5 months ago my check engine light came on so i stopped by AutoZone and borrowed the scanner and found the P0984 ( or something similiar) Transmission Slipping Code (this im positive whatever the number of the code was). That being said the only thing i noticed with that was the "hard" shift engages, which would set after going above ~50mph in OD. I did some research and found that was the ecu/computer detecting a slip and would set into a default/fail safe mode. Was told this could be caused by a numerous things. I took it to a chevy dealer who hooked up the diagnostics and they said the Torque Converter was shot. Well they first said they could replace it for 1200$ or so but later they said 600$. Also this is just after being covered under warranty, as truck is just over 6 years old with 65K miles on it. Before having them replace it i decided to check a few things myself as i do have mechanical/electrical experience, and also was not experiencing any problems (as far as i could notice) aside from the "hard" shift. This made me believe it was a faulty sensor, or fluid level etc. I added about 1 pint of Lucas Trans Fluid Additive and checked all wiring connections, cleaned them (Throttle Position Sensor, Solenoid on Transmission, etc..) After doing this the fault cleared and I have had 0 problems until today.