Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

2007 silverado 1500 towing a huge trailer

Search this Thread

Old August 3rd, 2014, 12:30 AM
CF Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007 silverado 1500 towing a huge trailer

First a little background...I've been towing RV trailers for over 30 years and have always towed close to the max allowed for each chevy truck I have owned and have never had any issues. I'm currently towing a 28' trailer that weighs in at 5158 and maxes out at 7,000 but I'm at about 6k with the stuff inside and a few things in the bed and 1 other passenger. I have a 2007 NBS silverado, 5.3 engine with tow package but only the 3.43 gearing. I live in Texas so it's pretty much all flat and it tows great without too much strain.
I have my tranny and differential flushed every 50k miles and only tow about ten times a year usually within 2 or 3 hours from the house.

Here is where the question come in...I'm thinking about trading in the trailer to get a little bit bigger one. I know I can pull it no problem if I change the gearing...thinking about going 4.10's. I can not figure if it will be too much weight on my axle. The tongue weight on the trailer I am currently towing is 618 and the bigger trailer is actually less then that at 550. The newer trailer would be about 5 feet longer and 2000 more pounds.