Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

2012 Silverado 1500 6 speed automatic problem

Search this Thread

Old September 30th, 2014, 2:31 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 Silverado 1500 6 speed automatic problem

I have 40,000 miles but I want to see if I can get some idea what's going on with my transmission, I can't afford to do anything so if this is something that can get fixed under warranty I want to do that, but if I'm going to go in, find out it's not going to be a warranty repair and then get charged for diagnosis - that's something I need to avoid because I'm between jobs.

I'm an engineer and I've done a lot of work, if it came down to it I'd probably park the truck for the winter and do a trans rebuild or replacement myself in the spring or summer. I have a general understanding of how transmissions work, but what I've worked on is of the 1955 vintage. Point being, in providing an answer there is no need to hold back on being technical because that's the kind of answer I'm looking for.

The exact symptom is this... The truck will pop into neutral if it is in drive when it should be making the 1-2 shift at 1000 RPM, it won't engage second until 1500 RPM. It similarly won't downshift from 2 to 1 during deceleration. In order to be driven, it needs to be in Manual mode in first gear from a stop, once above 1500 RPM it can be shifted to second in manual or shifted to drive, beyond that point it will operate normally. It will lurch forward a bit when you engage first gear in manual too.

If I recall my automatic transmission fundamentals correctly, the automatic trans will basicly engage both first and second gear while it's transitioning, and it seems as though it is doing this incorrectly.