Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

95 K1500 Oil Getting hot?

Search this Thread

Old October 17th, 2012, 5:04 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 K1500 Oil Getting hot?

I just noticed that my truck's oil seems to be getting really hot. The gauges are all at normal levels, but the engine smelled hot, so I opened the hood. The heat was definitely coming from the oil tank and when I opened it up, there was quite a bit of steam. The dipstick was almost too hot to touch. The oil was just changed a week ago; the truck has a slight oil leak but the mechanics said it was not worth fixing. The level is staying up. Is this a problem? I don't think I have ever checked the oil when the engine was hot so I don't know if it is normal. I'm not a mechanic. Thanks!
Old October 17th, 2012, 6:17 PM
CF Pro Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Of course it gets hot.

Allan
Old October 17th, 2012, 6:22 PM
CF Senior Member

yeah to your touch that oil is going to be pretty hot. As long as your gauges read good and what not I wouldn't worry about, you should worry if the actual temp gauge gets up there, but all in all that oil will get really hot. I will say this though when you say steam, make sure your not getting water in your oil by a head gasket or something because then you will have some serious problems, when you take the cap off where you put oil in make sure there is no moisture under that cap. If there is that is usually the first sign of a blown head gasket.
Old October 18th, 2012, 7:37 AM
CF Beginner

Thank you!