Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

First truck... any upgrade ideas?

Search this Thread

Old September 24th, 2010, 10:19 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First truck... any upgrade ideas?

Just got my first truck two days ago... 1997 5.7L Silverado.

Had a cap on it... but I wasn't really a big fan of a large cap. I'd rather have a tonneau cover.

Anyways, I am wanting to do some minor upgrades, preferably inexpensive.

I have been considering different types of exhausts... im not sure which to go with. I've been told flomaster is the way to go, but there are so many types out there.

I'm open to suggestions for other upgrades/customizations as well!

I'm a newbie in the truck world!
Old September 25th, 2010, 12:55 PM
CF Beginner

Im in the same boat as you my friend. I just got a '98 5.7 K Silverado and have been looking at different sites for exhaust, cold air intake and headers. I have heard that flomaster is a good one to go with but Ive also been checking out Gibson, seems like another affordable dependable brand for exhaust. I have no idea where to start in terms of headers and air intake though hopefully someone will have some ideas beyond the research ive done.
Old September 25th, 2010, 1:29 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Flowmaster "50" Series is the way to go. They look and sound just beautiful on my 2004 Silverado 1500 4x2 with the 5.3L V8 engine. Best money I ever spent!
Old September 25th, 2010, 5:56 PM
CF Beginner

Theophylaktos - how do you like your truck? I told my friend that this is the first vehicle that I actually am proud of owning!!!!

JK23112