Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

"New To Me" Chevy Truck & New To Forum

Search this Thread

Old February 14th, 2010, 2:23 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default "New To Me" Chevy Truck & New To Forum

Hello everyone! I am new to Chevy trucks and new to this forum. This is my first post, by the way.

I have typically been a "Ford guy" most of the time (but don't hold it against me - as I have had decent luck with them) and was looking to buy a used full-sized pickup truck, either an F-150 or possibly a 'Super Duty' F-250 with the PowerStroke diesel engine. I drive big rigs for a living, and am a fan of oil burners. Nonetheless, they were too costly or had gazillions of miles on them. Since I don't tow or haul much of anything, a diesel was unnecessary (but I just like them and the abundant torque).

I looked through the classifieds and on-line advertisements and happened to see a Silverado that caught my eye. I went and looked at two of them, eventually deciding to buy the second one (fewer miles, better color and trim level).

It's been awhile since I have owned a GM vehicle, but I have owned a few of them ('86 Oldsmobile Ninety-Eight; '78 Oldsmobile Ninety-Eight, '64 Cadillac Sedan deVille and even a '78 Chevrolet Chevette); and my family has had at least one GM car in the driveway for decades.

Anyway, I am back in the fold once again and recently purchased a "previously enjoyed" 2004 Chevrolet Silverado LS 1500. It has a maroon/burgundy exterior with a tan/beige interior. The truck is two-wheel-drive and is equipped with a 5.3-liter V8 engine and automatic transmission. The truck has just over 75,000 miles on it and about 3,000 hours on the engine (according to the odometer). I hope it will give me many, many more miles of service, though!