Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Newby Question - Engine cuts out when: hot and 60mph+

Search this Thread

Old May 21st, 2008, 9:48 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newby Question - Engine cuts out when: hot and 60mph+

Hey guys I am a complete newby to the website. Thanks so much for keeping things up to date and making this available to people like me. Alright here are the details. I bought a 1991 K1500 Scottsdale about 4 weeks ago. The truck did fine for the first 3 weeks and then it started dying on me whenever the truck heated up a little (not over heat, just within peak performance heat). This also only happens when I drive on the interstate (60mph+). When I drive around town the truck does fine and there are no problems. The symptoms are: I will be driving down the interstate going exactly 65mph for about 5 minutes, then it feels like the fuel system starts cutting out. Almost as if there are bubbles in the line. I usually downshift to 4th (because the engine dies) and when I downshift the engine starts back up. When I keep the rpm high it runs fine for about 10 seconds and starts "hickuping" again. After about 1 minute of cutting out and kicking back in the engine cuts out one more time and the truck cannot be started for about 4-6 hours (until engine is cool again). I usually just leave the truck there and go back later that day. I have suspected the fuel pump and fuel filter but I have personally replaced both 2 days ago and it did it again this morning. Like I said, it does fine at 45mph but after that it is sure to cut out at one point or another.

Let me know if you guys have any more questions, I would appreciate any help.

Thanks,
Josh
Old May 21st, 2008, 11:17 AM
CF Active Member