Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Oil life monitor - - - trust it?

Search this Thread

Old February 4th, 2009, 9:47 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Oil life monitor - - - trust it?

Hi. Forum newbie here. As most people probably are, my family is currently looking for some ways to curb spending until the economy recovers a bit. I have religiously changed the oil in all my vehicles every 3,000 miles ever since I started driving back in the 80's. My 2007 Silverado just crossed the 3,000 mile mark since the last oil change, but the oil life monitor in the DIC still shows 60% oil life.

Do you guys (and gals) trust those monitors? Or do you stick with the tried and true 3,000 mile plan? FYI, my driving is probably 70% at speed on interstate, 30% stop & go in town. I'm in Memphis, TN, so there aren't really harsh environmental conditions to deal with either.

Just curious. I've always wanted to believe the onboard monitors, but I've never known exactly how they work. Thoughts?

Last edited by Vol4Ever; February 4th, 2009 at 9:49 AM. Reason: typo correction
Old February 4th, 2009, 1:57 PM
Super Moderator

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

My vote would be 3k oil changes. Personally, I'm more worried about flushing dirt and impurities, than with the "life" of the oil.