Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Serious fuel issues on a 98 Silverado

Search this Thread

Old February 5th, 2011, 1:22 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Serious fuel issues on a 98 Silverado

Hello everyone, I am an exmechanic turned Plumber, back to mechanic thanks to the economy LOL. Anyways, I am currently working as a fleet mechanic for a small shop and I am having alot of issues with this truck.

It all started with sitting overnight in very cold climate and wouldn't start in the morning. Upon inspection I noticed the fuel pump was VERY loud, but engine was completely flooded, but at the same time a lean MIL on both banks was on (turns out it was on for atleast 2 months). I changed the plugs, noticed the wires arcing, so changed the wires/cap/rotor as well, found no vacuum leaks, and replaced the fuel filter as well (boy that pump sounded better! Super plugged) and she sounded better than ever and I drove it a couple hours running fine.