Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Trouble starting and don't know where to start to fix

Search this Thread

Old March 12th, 2009, 1:04 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trouble starting and don't know where to start to fix

I have a 2001 Silverado and it has a problem starting on the first try , but 99% of the time will start on the second try . It seems like if I drive it to the store or something and come back out it starts right up . Also when it sits overnight it starts right up unless the gas is like below 1/4 of a tank . It seems like it is in that 1-5 hour window that it sits it wont start on first try . I have changed plugs, wires and fuel filter .Anybody had this problem ? Any answers ?

If this has been posted before , sorry I am new to board .
Old March 22nd, 2009, 11:47 PM
CF Beginner

Clean Throttle Position Sensor
Old March 23rd, 2009, 7:34 AM
CF Beginner

How do I clean it ? It looks like a pain to get off . Do I have to take it off ? I thought the problem could be the MAF sensor but I changed it yesterday and still not wanting to crank on first try .
Old March 23rd, 2009, 11:54 AM
Super Moderator

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

A lot of '00s,'01s, '02s still have the original battery. Many large parts stores will check it for free, have it tested. Battery cables corrode on the inside of the insulation after a few years, for the cost, it's worthwhile to level the playing field, and make sure you've got a strong battery and new cables.
Old May 4th, 2010, 4:37 PM
Banned

Default Hard starting 6.0