Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

1996 Suburban 5.7 Intake Manifold Question

Search this Thread

Old October 7th, 2017, 7:48 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 Suburban 5.7 Intake Manifold Question

Newbie here that could use some help: How can I determine if the vacuum leak that I have is from the upper or lower Intake Manifold. I am going to start on it tomorrow and I know how to test the
fuel pressure regulator"><span style=fuel pressure regulator" /> fuel pressure regulator">fuel pressure regulator
and spider injectors when I get in there, but I don't want to have to dig down to the lower intake if I don't have to. I have a very high idle and a multi misfire code. Plugs, wires, distributor, rotor all good. Compression good, within 8.5% of each other. Fuel pressure normal, but it doesn't hold after you turn the key off. Recently tested or replaced and tested: IAC, TPS, MAP, MAF, EGR, http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/web/PartSearchCmd?storeId=10151&searchTerm=coolant+temperature+sensor and PCV. I sprayed an entire can of starter fluid on the entire engine and every vacuum line and only got a slight hit on the front passenger corner of the upper intake. Brake booster tested OK and when I pinched the
brake booster"><span style=brake booster" /> brake booster">brake booster