Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

1996 Suburban 7.4L 166K miles; recent work done, running poorly

Search this Thread

Old May 16th, 2013, 1:44 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 Suburban 7.4L 166K miles; recent work done, running poorly

I am relatively new to doing my own car repair: I noticed a water leak at lower intake manifold and lifter noise started not too far afterward. I replaced the gaskets and the lifter. I followed the directions in my manuals, but guessing I may have done something wrong.

shaky, poor performance under load, poor mileage, no engine codes.

When I parked it to do the job I took a picture of where the rotor was and did not adequately mark the base of the distributor. I also just torqued the rocker arm bolt to spec but didn't put at specific part of stroke.

I adjusted cam retard to 0 deg as I have read on the forum. I also just put engine at TDC and checked the rotor position which looks like the tip is pointed just after the #8 on the distributor.

I think I did a good job using propane to find vacuum leak. However, going to probably get carb cleaner, also ordered vacuum gauge.

Fuel pressure is in the 50's, I tested that a while ago when I replaced the fuel pump.

Pulled the cap/rotor now and noticed very light wear on one tower of cap and center of rotor had a small point of black goo that looks like it came from the cap. Plugs all pretty much look the same when I pulled them.

Now what?
Was going to put on ACDelco cap/rotor as I have read are the best. Also new plug wires. Not sure if it may be some funky timing relearn procedure that needs to be done or what. Don't want to doing timing chain/gear replacement now unless it is absolutely necessary (Moving in 3 weeks, working full time, and don't have all my tools here anymore)