Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

2004 Suburban 2500 Wiper motor replacement

Search this Thread

Old January 12th, 2013, 10:05 AM
Sud
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 Suburban 2500 Wiper motor replacement help

First I will start out by saying that I am not a mechanic so please excuse my description of parts. I used the windshield wipers on New Years day, the next morning they did not work. I checked the fuse in the cab and it was good. I unplugged the connection to the pulse board and it was getting power. So figured it was either the motor or the board. I got the board off w/ ease but I have no idea how to get the motor out. I unbolted the 10mm on top of the motor but from I can tell there are two more on the back side of the motor that attach to some type of support bar. I unbolted the support bar in an attempt to get a better angle at the other two bolts but no luck because I can't back out the bolt on the arm that comes out of the motor. Even if I get loose I can't back it out because its tight in there. Is there a procedure or order of steps I need to perform. I don't wont to finally get it out and the new in and have the wipers work but not properly (alignment). Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Sud; January 12th, 2013 at 10:12 AM.
Old January 12th, 2013, 12:02 PM
Sud
CF Beginner

ETA: Got everything off, including nut in last picture. Cant get the arm off the motor with wiper puller, any suggestions?
Old January 12th, 2013, 4:50 PM
Administrator

Received 170 Likes on 168 Posts

Use Kroil, Liquid Wrench, etc. If that doesn't work, try heating the arm w/ the puller attached and beating on it. May take several cycles of this "gentle" persuasion.