Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

2009 Z71 Annoying Surge/Shudder

Search this Thread

Old August 19th, 2009, 4:14 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 Z71 Annoying Surge/Shudder

I'm a newbie to this forum and the forum world in general. I recently purchased a new 2009 Z71 Tahoe with the 5.3 L engine and 6sp auto transmission. As of today the car is exactly 10 days old. After a few days of driving I noticed that it would shudder at low rpm (1500) under load, especially when traveling up hill at low speeds (10-15 mph). It will also surge when coasting at low speeds when coming to a stop. Took it in for service and the service manager road with me and verified what I was feeling. After running some diagnostics on it later while road testing they discovered that the EGR was high and the so was the timing. The service manager and tech drove 2 other new trucks that were on the lot and they said that they felt the same problem and that the graph read exactly the same as my Tahoe. Since they had never seen this before, they called GM tech support. They were told that this is normal and what I was feeling was high EGR going back into the engine to help with emissions. They also told the dealer that they had other cases reported, but the number was few. Tech support sent a program update and the dealer installed. Was supposed to help improve by 20%. Tech support also told the dealer they were not working on a fix at this point. The shudder/surge is most noticeable at about 5 to 10% throttle. Is this really normal? Anyone ever heard of or experienced this? Traded in an 04 LT that was great all the way until 92K and now I have a new one that doesn't even drive as well. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old August 19th, 2009, 8:59 PM
CF Beginner