Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Dual Exhaust or Strait pipe

Search this Thread

Old April 30th, 2009, 3:03 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual Exhaust or Strait pipe

I really dont like the sound of my Stock Exhaust on my 99 Tahoe. It has the Vortec 350. I was looking under it and its got a strange exhaust setup. Im looking for a mildly cheap upgrade. I plan on going with a set of headers later down the road but for now What would be a cheap good exhaust upgrade? Would a good strait pipe from the cat back replacing the stock muffler with something like a Magnaflow give me good horsepower gains? Im new to chevrolet so i really have no idea what to go for. What i was thinking about doing is replacing the stock muffler, and running the one side and going in later with the duals when i get the headers. Would a notice any gains other than the sound of it with a strait pipe?
Old April 30th, 2009, 3:44 PM
Administrator

Received 45 Likes on 45 Posts

A five chamber flowmaster will give a nice tone, anything less will put a drone in the people compartment that could make long trips less then enjoyable.
I had the 5 chamber with duel 4x18 chrome echo tips going straight out the back on my 1997 with the 5.7 looked really good and sounded really good.
And on the occasion that had to bring something home from Home Depot that required the rear doors to be left open while driving it sound really sweet...
Old April 30th, 2009, 6:17 PM
Administrator

Received 170 Likes on 168 Posts