Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

fix for exhaust manifold bolts!!

Search this Thread

Old November 11th, 2014, 10:39 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fix for exhaust manifold bolts!!

Trying to get the word out about the best way to fix those inconvenient broken exhaust manifold bolts that can't be removed. I work in a shop and use the K.A.P. exhaust manifold bolt repair kits and have had great outcomes with them. Super easy to install and save time and money. I know a lot of people struggle with them, so I figured i'd spread the word about them because they truly are worth a look.
Old November 11th, 2014, 7:25 PM
Super Moderator

Received 509 Likes on 469 Posts

if you have access to a mig welder; weld a nut onto the broken stud. this will work even for studs broken below the surface of the head. 1.5hrs per side start to finish. I've never had a stud I couldn't get out with this method; and its done right.
Old June 24th, 2020, 4:30 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have used these and 100% agree and would recommend. My mechanic wanted nearly $1,000 to drill out the bolts and replace them. The brackets were way more affordable and way more durable than new bolts. Plus, I could fix it myself which saves on labor costs. Make sure you are looking for the kral auto parts brackets when looking into it. There are some knock-offs out there that are not good quality.
Old December 2nd, 2020, 12:14 PM
CF Veteran

Received 271 Likes on 234 Posts