Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

I may have a serious problem!! Please advise

Search this Thread

Old August 26th, 2020, 12:17 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post I may have a serious problem!! Please advise

Information: 2 weeks ago, I purchase a 2011 Suburban 2500 with low miles. Very low. I got a build sheet before buying from GM and it looks like this Suburban came into the dealership as a government vehicle. Looked at the car, she ran great, She was pretty and she didn't smell like someone smoked in it. Remember, I am not an expert and I don't work on my own cars. So I bought it. Signed the papers ( All cash deal) and dealership said she was never salvaged and had a clean title!! You know where this goes...

2 weeks later I go get the stereo changed. Guy looks under the hood and all the screws and manifold have rust in the engine compartment. "This car was flooded" he says. He shows me the pitting marks on the wheels that looks like algae on the metal. He shows me the carpet which is rising. He shows me the chassis which shows big time rust formation.

He shows me new paint under the carriage. He shows all the signs that the dealership is trying to hide something. I do a VIN check. Nothing suspicious.

Now he has me all freaked out. I am going to 2 mechanics tomorrow. 1 I guy I trust and 2 Another Cheyv dealership.

What should I ask the the mechanics to look at?
Can some wash a title to clean it up to see to consumer? Is that fraud?

This does not feel right

I feel this forum has enough experience to guide my questions to the mechanics (maybe to some lawyers)

Thanks
Worried Suburban owner
Old August 26th, 2020, 11:50 AM
CF Pro Member

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts

Flood cars are the automotive equivalent of leprosy. Run away. Run away fast.