Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

popping noise 08 tahoe

Search this Thread

Old October 3rd, 2008, 10:10 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default popping noise 08 tahoe

HELLO, ALTHOUGH I FREQUENTLY READ ALL OF YOUR FORUMS THIS IS MY FIRST TIME POSTING. I HAVE AN 08 TAHOE 4WD. I HAVE NOTICED THAT SOMETIMES WHEN I HAVE IT TURNED ALL OF THE WAY ONE DIRECTION GOING AT A SLOWER SPEED SUCH AS TURNING IN A PARKING AREA IT WILL MAKE A POPPING NOISE. IT WILL POP JUST ONCE. I AT FIRST THOUGHT THIS NOISE WAS IN THE FRONT END ALTHOUGH NOW AFTER LISTENING TO IT MORE IT APPEARS TO BE COMING MORE FROM THE REAR OR THE CENTER OF THE VEHICLE. LIKE I SAID IT DOES NOT MAKE THIS NOISE ANY OTHER TIME. JUST FOR CLARIFICATION THIS IS WITH THE VEHICLE BEING SET IN THE 2WD POSISTION.
Old October 3rd, 2008, 11:13 PM
Administrator

Received 43 Likes on 43 Posts
Default RE: popping noise 08 tahoe

my first guess its the limited slip differential popping when you do a really tight turn
Old October 3rd, 2008, 11:18 PM
Administrator

Received 163 Likes on 161 Posts

Welcome to the Tahoe forum.

Also if you have turned to the steering lock, it may be related to the power steering pump.

BTW, turn the cap lock off, it's considered shouting and also hard to read.
Old October 3rd, 2008, 11:20 PM
CF Junior Member