Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Tahoe Transmission... to replace or replace?

Search this Thread

Old November 16th, 2016, 2:26 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tahoe Transmission... to replace or replace?

Hey guys. I'm new to this form. I came for some opinions about what to do.

I have a 2009 Tahoe 5.3L flex fuel 4x4 with 6L80 trans
it has 135k on the power train.

Recently the trans went out. After rebuilding the TECM and valve body meself, the truck runs and drives again. But like garbage. Low pressure, soft shifts, just not normal behavior for the trans.

AAMCO said rebuild or replace $4000 for rebuild $3600 for replace.

Chevy said replace $3400 (3 year/100000 mile warrante)

Local Guy said rebuild $3800

Obviosuly Chevy is the way to go since they offer the best product for cheaper then the other guys.

Now, the question of opinion here in lies, is it worth replacing the transmission on the Tahoe with 135K on it? I can imagine other components will start to break down sooner then later...
or should I just trade it in and pick up a new vehicle?

I owe $10k left on the loan and it's hard to drop $3400 or so for a new trans, if the truck is going to end up falling apart in the near future anyway.

I guess this is a question of logic. What is the reliability of the 5.3L and rest of the powertrain? What's y'all opinion on the matter?

Thanks
Old December 14th, 2016, 3:02 PM
CF Junior Member