96 Astro Van torsion bar removal - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

96 Astro Van torsion bar removal


  Reply  
78monteripper's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Upper Michigan

September 7th, 2009, 12:32 PM   #1  
96 Astro Van torsion bar removal

Im sure this question has been posted before but I couldnt find it. Im new to this forum
I have a 96 astro with 170k on it and naturally the tranny died in it. For the life of me I cannot get the torsion bars to come loose. I took the ride height adjustment bolts out and the crossmember is unbolted from the frame. I also have the vehicle blocked up on the frame so the wheels are hanging. Does anyone have any tips or tricks to getting this thing loosened up? Ive spent a solid 6 hours trying to get it loose. I was thinking about taking the lower control arms off to get it apart if I really have to. The van needs a tranny, was thinking about swapping a 700 in it because i have a nice remanned one with 60k on it out of a 92 astro. Any ideas would be very helpful

 
MDTAHOE's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,955
Bowie, MD

September 7th, 2009, 12:43 PM   #2  
After you take the adjusting bolt you need to use a special tool to push up on the key and pull out the metal piece that stops the bar from fully unloading. Once this piece is out remove the tool then tap the cross member off the back and pull the bar out of the control arm.


Last edited by MDTAHOE; September 7th, 2009 at 12:56 PM.
 
78monteripper's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Upper Michigan

September 10th, 2009, 7:27 PM   #3  
Any idea where I could get the special tool? Chevy dealer maybe?

 
MDTAHOE's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,955
Bowie, MD

September 10th, 2009, 11:28 PM   #4  
http://www.bizrate.com/automotive-re...nloading-tool/

 
78monteripper's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Upper Michigan

September 20th, 2009, 10:20 PM   #5  
contrary to popular belief the 700r4 out of my 92 astro van fit and works perfectly in my 96. I had to use the plenum off of the 92 so that I could hook up the TV cable with the stock bracket. I also used a lockup kit from Jegs for the converter. Havent had a problem..actually saved me about a grand since I didnt have to buy or repair the old 4l60e.

 
78monteripper's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Upper Michigan

September 24th, 2009, 11:05 PM   #6  
The 92 was also CPI. It had the "W" Vin code, I think it was like the H.O. 4.3 or something. What I did was swap the very top cover on the engine because the 92 had a spot for a TV cable to be hooked up. I never changed fuel pumps or anything, figured if they were both cpi that it would be the same. As far as the ECM..I didnt change a thing. The old wires from the 4l60e are just hanging underneath the van now. Its running good, doesnt run rich or rough or lack power, got 400 miles on it now without a single issue, not even a service engine soon light. I also used the transfer case off of the 96 and wired my own torque converter lockup. Shifts like new.

 
monte78's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1

May 14th, 2013, 2:24 PM   #7  
Ebay has this tool.

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics