Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

Rear drum brake vibration

Search this Thread

Old October 31st, 2014, 9:37 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear drum brake vibration

I need help with the rear drum brakes on my Express 2500 van. To give you an idea of my abilities, I began doing brake jobs before disc brakes were available on passenger cars and though I do not make my living as a mechanic, I repair just about everything except rebuild auto transmissions. The van is a 97, 12 passenger with the 350 (5.7) and uses the 2" rear shoes. I did some searching on the site before posting a new thread, but everyone talked about front rotors warping. Initially, I had a moderate vibration in the brakes when applied so I replaced the front rotors and pads before checking anything else and the vibration did not disappear. I then replaced the shoes, springs and drums and the vibration went from moderate to severe! I then replaced both wheel cylinders with no improvement. I pinched off the flexible brake hose that feeds the rear brakes with vice grips and the thing stops smoothly, so the problem is definitely in the rear somewhere. While up on the lift, I started the van and put it in gear then slowly applied the brakes. The right rear wheel would suddenly lock up, release, then lock up, release and so on. While driving on the road, the right rear wheel will lock up momentarily if I hit the brakes hard. The right rear drum gets extremely hot after normal driving but the tire can be rotated by hand when jacked up, so it seems to me that it is not over adjusted. The shoes are installed properly with the longer brake shoe material at the rear and the shorter in the front. There is no grease or other foreign substance on the new shows or drums. There is no excess play in the axle indicating a bad bearing. I pulled the fuse on the anti lock brakes