Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

2007 new style body trans slips

Search this Thread

Old November 28th, 2013, 10:23 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking 2007 new style body trans slips

Hello, Everyone I'm new here. I have a 2007 Silverado I tell folks its a 2008 because of the old and new style body change that year. Its a 1500 crew cab, with 64,500 mls 5.3 l. We have 3 vehicles so the Silverado sits mostly was driven on Saturdays to collage but wife that course up.lol. Ok wife drove truck yesterday to work {about 35 mls one way}and when she made a right hand turn into parking lot she felt a slip and then no movement in D. She shifted to 2 on gear shift and was able to park it. Now I have been a tech for 35 years but mainly on Honda cars at a independent shop. When she called me and told me what happened I asked here the temp of trans, she said 159 degrees, [normal]. so I went to her job and when got there trans temp was 108 degrees, started truck up and shifted into drive, nothing and tried 3rd still nothing. 2nd moved and 1st moved. So I Told her Ill drive it home since I afford a tow truck because am out of a job,[ retired turning wrenches 3yrs ago]. I started home from take off in 1st then shift manually to 2nd. When I hit 40 mph at 2500 rpm I [being noisy like all techs should be] I shifted to 3rd and was moving [slight slip if press to hard on gas] got to 50 tried D and worked but again slipping if gas pressed to hard. Drove 60mph on cruise all the way home with trans temp fluctuating between 109 at cruise and 122 at take off. At stops had to put it in 1st to go. Yes slight slip if gas pressed hard. Now being a Honda tech and did Honda trans we had clutch packs in the trans that acted that way when seals were going bad. Don't k