Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Steering gear

Search this Thread

Old November 27th, 2013, 7:26 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Steering gear

Hi guys newbie here. I have a 05 Silverado. Lately just out of no where it is hard to turn. Doesn't matter if its cold or hot. I suspect the steering. I had an 01 that did the same thing unfortunately I totaled it before I had a chance to fix it. Any thoughts?
Old November 27th, 2013, 10:19 PM
Super Moderator

Received 507 Likes on 467 Posts

remove the belt and check for a broken power steering pump shaft. if its broken the pulley and shaft will pull out of the pump.
Old November 28th, 2013, 7:19 PM
CF Beginner

I meant to say steering gear. I don't think its the pump because when it was happening on my other truck I changed the pup and it didn't make any difference. I have an extended warranty on the truck that is good for a while but I would like to figure this out.
Old November 28th, 2013, 7:51 PM
Super Moderator

Received 507 Likes on 467 Posts

put a steering gear in it then, if your wrong you only be out about 600$.

only a shop will have the proper equipment to test this. its either a pump, gear or line restriction.
Old July 30th, 2014, 12:19 PM
CF Beginner