Homelink programing question - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Go Back   > >
Log In 

Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

     
Old 08-07-2015, 07:30 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
 
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:Browse all: Interior Guides
Print Wikipost

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-13-2007, 04:53 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Default Homelink programing question

Has anyone else had troubles programing the homelink buttons ?

I have following the book and homelink instructions from the web site and still no go.

I was able to clear the button functions after holding 2 buttons for a long time but have not been able to get any blinking functions from the buttons when trying to learn. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2007, 06:34 PM
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,136
Default RE: Homelink programing question

I also have never been able to program mine. I've just given up. Hope someone figures out the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2007, 06:38 PM
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 287
Default RE: Homelink programing question

Yeah I finally made mine work. You have to have the remote to your garage door opener. You do have to push both outside homelink buttons. In your manual it tells you part of it, you have to completely read it all the way thru before you start. Basically you push the remote as well as the homelink button at the same time this sends a signal to the homelink. You then have to push the learn button on the garage unit and get back to your vehicle and follow the steps in the manual. If you still have problems I will help you out later.

DarkOne
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2007, 06:42 PM
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,136
Default RE: Homelink programing question

My garage unit doesn't have a learn button. I've done EVERYTHING in the manual wth no luck.I have the 12 or 10 pin opener code (can't remmber now) on the remote and on the unit in garage. I have a garage unit that controls 2 doors. the main code is door one. the opposite settings opens the other door. The openers are set exactly opposite. I'm only trying to get it to open one door (Main settting) This may be my problem but... the Homelink is supposed to learn to output the same signalas the opener. The rest shouldn't matter. I have no rolling code.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2007, 07:42 PM
73shark's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 9,045
Default RE: Homelink programing question

Are you sure you are using the right instruction set in the manual? There's one for a three lite Homelink and one for the triangular one lite Homelink. I know I tried using the wrong one before I noticed this. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2007, 07:59 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 155
Default RE: Homelink programing question

It took me awhile to get mine, mostly because the builders put a crappy door openner in the garage. I swear the remote only works if you are eye level and within 5 feet of the door. But yea, do make sure you are reading the directions for the Homelink with the traingular light above the buttons. I believe that is what the Tahoe has in it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2007, 08:58 PM
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,136
Default RE: Homelink programing question

Got the right one. Must be my type of garage door opener.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:27 AM
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 287
Default RE: Homelink programing question

Just read the manual for the non rolling code opener. It should be pretty easy. You have to follow the steps, if you mess up then you have to reset the homelink over again. I have mine working w/ a rolling code....works great no more remote on the visor. I will get back to you on the steps if there are still problems.

DarkOne
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-14-2007, 04:04 AM
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,689
Default RE: Homelink programing question

No problem with mine, but make sure llike others have stated theat you use the right set of instructions (There are 2 or 3 different type of homelink buttons)I almost missed it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:01 AM
CF Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,212
Default RE: Homelink programing question

I think it is also critical that you have the garage door remote right next to the homelink buttons. THe closer you hold it the better.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Homelink Included With 07 LS? Elbie Tahoe & Suburban 2 03-31-2008 10:13 AM
Buying a 2000 suburban Homelink Question 6pac Tahoe & Suburban 1 11-14-2007 01:32 PM
Homelink, AC, cruise intermittent 2000 LS Bill55AZ Impala 1 09-24-2007 06:26 AM
Power Folding Mirrors/Homelink Question rhoadsc Tahoe & Suburban 9 08-18-2007 08:20 PM
Homelink RioRedCobra Tahoe & Suburban 11 08-10-2007 09:05 PM


Tags
2007, camaro, chevrolet, chevy, door, garage, gm, home, homelink, instructions, link, opener, program, programing, setting, setup, tahoe

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.