Homelink programing question - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Homelink programing question


  Reply  
  #1  
Old  January 13th, 2007, 4:53 PM
Homelink programing question

Has anyone else had troubles programing the homelink buttons ?

I have following the book and homelink instructions from the web site and still no go.

I was able to clear the button functions after holding 2 buttons for a long time but have not been able to get any blinking functions from the buttons when trying to learn. Thanks in advance.

  #2  
Old  January 13th, 2007, 6:34 PM
  • CF Veteran
    Join Date: Sep 2006
    Posts: 1,136
RE: Homelink programing question

I also have never been able to program mine. I've just given up. Hope someone figures out the problem.

  #3  
Old  January 13th, 2007, 6:38 PM
  • CF Active Member
    Join Date: Aug 2006
    Posts: 287
RE: Homelink programing question

Yeah I finally made mine work. You have to have the remote to your garage door opener. You do have to push both outside homelink buttons. In your manual it tells you part of it, you have to completely read it all the way thru before you start. Basically you push the remote as well as the homelink button at the same time this sends a signal to the homelink. You then have to push the learn button on the garage unit and get back to your vehicle and follow the steps in the manual. If you still have problems I will help you out later.

DarkOne

  #4  
Old  January 13th, 2007, 6:42 PM
  • CF Veteran
    Join Date: Sep 2006
    Posts: 1,136
RE: Homelink programing question

My garage unit doesn't have a learn button. I've done EVERYTHING in the manual wth no luck.I have the 12 or 10 pin opener code (can't remmber now) on the remote and on the unit in garage. I have a garage unit that controls 2 doors. the main code is door one. the opposite settings opens the other door. The openers are set exactly opposite. I'm only trying to get it to open one door (Main settting) This may be my problem but... the Homelink is supposed to learn to output the same signalas the opener. The rest shouldn't matter. I have no rolling code.

  #5  
Old  January 13th, 2007, 7:42 PM
  • Administrator
    Join Date: Apr 2006
    Posts: 9,074
    KC, MO area
RE: Homelink programing question

Are you sure you are using the right instruction set in the manual? There's one for a three lite Homelink and one for the triangular one lite Homelink. I know I tried using the wrong one before I noticed this. Just a thought.

  #6  
Old  January 13th, 2007, 7:59 PM
RE: Homelink programing question

It took me awhile to get mine, mostly because the builders put a crappy door openner in the garage. I swear the remote only works if you are eye level and within 5 feet of the door. But yea, do make sure you are reading the directions for the Homelink with the traingular light above the buttons. I believe that is what the Tahoe has in it.

  #7  
Old  January 13th, 2007, 8:58 PM
  • CF Veteran
    Join Date: Sep 2006
    Posts: 1,136
RE: Homelink programing question

Got the right one. Must be my type of garage door opener.

  #8  
Old  January 14th, 2007, 1:27 AM
  • CF Active Member
    Join Date: Aug 2006
    Posts: 287
RE: Homelink programing question

Just read the manual for the non rolling code opener. It should be pretty easy. You have to follow the steps, if you mess up then you have to reset the homelink over again. I have mine working w/ a rolling code....works great no more remote on the visor. I will get back to you on the steps if there are still problems.

DarkOne

  #9  
Old  January 14th, 2007, 4:04 AM
  • CF Veteran
    Join Date: Dec 2006
    Posts: 1,689
RE: Homelink programing question

No problem with mine, but make sure llike others have stated theat you use the right set of instructions (There are 2 or 3 different type of homelink buttons)I almost missed it.

  #10  
Old  January 14th, 2007, 11:01 AM
  • CF Addict
    Join Date: Sep 2006
    Posts: 2,212
    Missouri
RE: Homelink programing question

I think it is also critical that you have the garage door remote right next to the homelink buttons. THe closer you hold it the better.


  Reply
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors