Notices
1988 - 1998 (GMT400) Section for all discussion related to the 1987-1998 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

1997 5.7 vortex spider injector leaking

Search this Thread

Old March 14th, 2017, 10:18 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 5.7 vortex spider injector leaking

I have a leaking spider injector.. can I just pull out the O rings and replace them....or do I need to order a new spider...thx for any inputs
Old March 20th, 2017, 2:14 PM
CF Beginner

I'm no mechanic but I've been chasing miss issue on my 98 and from what I've read and seen first hand; its not a seal thats leaking; its that carbon gums up those poppets and they either dont open or they get stuck open thus leaking fuel.

Its best to replace the entire thing with the upgraded Multifuel version that swaps the poppets for mini injectors. I did mine; super easy .. got one for under 300 bucks from Rockauto and is ACDelco brand.
Old April 4th, 2017, 5:15 PM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you're capable of pulling off the intake plenum (as you suggest) then look at the old spider. If there is a "clean spot" under the Fuel Pressure Regulator (FPR) you may be able to get off cheaply by just replacing that part because that is where your leak is. If there are other spots in the intake that have been "washed" by raw fuel, you should bite the bullet and replace the entire spider with a new style Multi-port Fuel Injector (MFI). It will be worth it. Also, pop off the throttle body (TB) (3 bolts plus the throttle bracket) and clean it good with a soft bristle brush and carb cleaner. The gasket can be reused but a new TB gasket comes with the intake plenum kit (Fel Pro MS90269) I went to a pick-a-part salvage and took off a plenum just for practice. Was pleasantly surprised to find a new style MFI spider under it! Bought it for $40 and installed it in my Suburban. Fantastic improvement! The truck was fresh in the yard so it had not sat for months/years. The used part worked great.