Notices
1988 - 1998 (GMT400) Section for all discussion related to the 1987-1998 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

New to repairs, break problem,

Search this Thread

Old June 7th, 2017, 11:19 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to repairs, break problem,

Hi everyone. I am very new to caring for my truck for myself. My Dad has owned a 1994 Chevy 1500 4x4 and I acquired it from him. The truck is to the point it is not worth sending to a repair shop, and I'm interested in learning about the truck and making the repairs to it for myself.

It has a few problems, but at the forefront now is the brakes.

This is what happened: I park it on a relatively steep driveway, and as I put the key in the ignition, I put my foot on the pedal like normal. With my foot on the brake as normal, I turned the key and as the truck started, I simultaneously heard a pressure release and the brake pedal immediately went soft. I drove around the block and returned to the drive and it appears there has been a spray of what I assume is brake fluid.

But like I said, I'm new to diagnostics and repair, so all help, information and experience are greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old June 7th, 2017, 11:49 PM
Super Moderator

Received 507 Likes on 467 Posts

locate where the leak is....sounds like you burst a brake line. if so, you will have to replace the brake hose. if the entire line is rusted, replace the line front to back.
Old June 8th, 2017, 10:24 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts