Notices
1999 - 2006 (GMT800) Section for all discussion related to the 1999-2006 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

Nv3500 trouble

Search this Thread

Old July 1st, 2021, 4:20 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nv3500 trouble

Hello this is my first time here. I am looking for help diagnosing my 2000 chevy stepside with a 4.8 liter and nv3500 manual transmission. My nv3500 is acting up. 1ts issue is with engine running I have a noticeable noise like a bearing going when I press the clutch and hold it down it goes away when I release the clutch it's back. I believe this to be the input bearing ? 2nd issue only happens when shifting from first to second. when the transmission is warm and I press the clutch down, shift into second and on the release of the clutch it clunks when engaging into second. This does not happen on the down shift and only when going into second. Any help would be really appreciated. J am planning on fixing myself but better diagnosis would be much needed. Thanks damon
Old July 5th, 2021, 12:00 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Damfare
Hello this is my first time here. I am looking for help diagnosing my 2000 chevy stepside with a 4.8 liter and nv3500 manual transmission. My nv3500 is acting up. 1ts issue is with engine running I have a noticeable noise like a bearing going when I press the clutch and hold it down it goes away when I release the clutch it's back. I believe this to be the input bearing ? 2nd issue only happens when shifting from first to second. when the transmission is warm and I press the clutch down, shift into second and on the release of the clutch it clunks when engaging into second. This does not happen on the down shift and only when going into second. Any help would be really appreciated. J am planning on fixing myself but better diagnosis would be much needed. Thanks damon