Notices
1999 - 2006 (GMT800) Section for all discussion related to the 1999-2006 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

Transmission problem

Search this Thread

Old October 5th, 2022, 5:13 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission problem

Hey I was driving down the hwy and suddenly lost 4th/overdrive. I have 1st, 2nd, 3rd or part of it, and reverse. My rear end went out a few weeks ago and I replaced it and think it may have messed with my transmission. I'm just wondering if this could be the clutches or maybe something more simple like the shift solenoids. I'm still learning so i don't know a lot, especially about transmissions. I just need my truck goin again. I hate when she's down. I have been hearing a whining for a little while like the power steering pump but that's new. The sound seems to be coming from my transmission or somewhere underneath my truck. Also, there has been a very slight, very low, grinding sound and my truck has felt like it's being held back. I'm having issues with one of my calipers so I assumed that's what it was. After reading online, I'm thinking maybe it was my transmission. I can start and drive my truck now and she shifts out smoothly but acts like she's in neutral right after shifting into 3rd. I hope I've added enough info to help, cuz I gotta figure this out it's driving me crazy. I've parked my truck to keep from damaging anything further. Thanks y'all.
Old October 8th, 2022, 8:27 PM
CF Beginner

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Hello; Not able to imagine how a replaced rear end can mess with the transmission directly except for one thing. If the truck is a four wheel drive and you some how put a new rear end with a different axle ratio. The front and rear axles must have the same gearing. Both 3:73 or both 4:11 or whatever.