Notices
2014 - 2018 (GMT-K2) Section for all discussion related to the 2014 - 2018 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

Check engine light after catback exhaust install

Search this Thread

Old February 19th, 2021, 11:12 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Check engine light after catback exhaust install

I semi recently installed a magna flow catback exhaust. I am now getting P0420 and P0430 cat efficiency codes. I’m no expert but last I ever knew you wouldn’t have to tune for a catback due to it being past all the o2 sensors. Any explanations?
Old February 21st, 2021, 12:32 PM
CF Veteran

Received 269 Likes on 234 Posts

I don’t know specifics of magna flows, but if it’s creating enough back pressure, it could be affecting converter efficiency.

What do you mean by “semi recently”? It could be there’s another problem causing the codes and the magna flow is unrelated.
Old February 21st, 2021, 4:02 PM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by Gumby22
I don’t know specifics of magna flows, but if it’s creating enough back pressure, it could be affecting converter efficiency.

What do you mean by “semi recently”? It could be there’s another problem causing the codes and the magna flow is unrelated.

In response to the first part, Magnaflows are straight through mufflers, so I would think it would relieve the back pressure, but I’m not an expert so I could be wrong