Avalanche Chevy's first real SUT, combining the interior room of an SUV and the cargo ability of a pickup truck.

Chevrolet Avalanche
Platform: GMT 805 & 900

Water leaking into cabin from Bed

Search this Thread

Old December 1st, 2014, 11:21 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Water leaking into cabin from Bed

Hey guys, new to the forum. Let me start of by saying I am relatively new to the Chevrolet world, I just bought this truck of mine in October (2004 Chevy Avy 4x4). I am a Toyota technician and am not really familiar with the common issues of these trucks.

Last night after a weekend of deer hunting I was hosing out the bed and I dropped the midgate down to hand clean the back of the midgate. I noticed some water pooling up on the trum behind the rear seats. Today I removed the plastic threshold and the metal cover held down with the T-30 screws and cleared all the leaves out of the drain that is in the front of the bed. I then went back to the car wash to finish my cleanup job. When I was done hosing out the bed, I dropped the midgate to find water pooling in this same area. Pic is linked here.

Name:  WP_20141201_001_zpsda391f35.jpg
Views: 4153
Size:  60.4 KB

I know it doesn't look like much in the pic but before I wiped it up it was a lot more. Is the water supposed to drain here in these trucks? I noticed the 2 holes in the trim, are they drains? If so they must be clogged. Now I did still have that metal cover off the truck when I washed the bed out, I don't know if that helps seal off the cabin, but I don't see how it would. Is this supposed to be this way or is there a fix guys?