Caprice This full sized sedan gained infamous recognition as being the choice of many police forces nationwide.
Platform: B-Body

91 Caprice has been in storage

Search this Thread

Old January 15th, 2013, 12:46 PM
CF Active Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 91 Caprice has been in storage

This Caprice belonged to Dad . It has been in storage for at least 10 years .

The ABS lite is on .

How do I go about troubleshooting what is wrong ?

Thanks ,
Wyr
God bless
Old January 15th, 2013, 3:51 PM
CF Monarch

Received 138 Likes on 130 Posts

Originally Posted by WyrTwister
This Caprice belonged to Dad . It has been in storage for at least 10 years .

The ABS lite is on .

How do I go about troubleshooting what is wrong ?

Thanks ,
Wyr
God bless
I've looked at this post twice, now three times. I am no expert by any means on abs. Your Caprice is setup with obd1, looking through those codes for that vintage, I don't see anything that would reveal an abs problem, I certainly could be wrong. I'd suggest simple things first, will it start? If so, and still abs light, I'd suggest with engine off, and back wheel's chocked for safety, jack up the front end see if you can roll the front wheels, are they free?
Old January 15th, 2013, 10:21 PM
Former Sponsor

Usually when the abs light is on it is due to a faulty sensor, a wiring issue or a faulty abs controller module
Old January 16th, 2013, 7:22 AM
CF Active Member

Originally Posted by kevinkpk
I've looked at this post twice, now three times. I am no expert by any means on abs. Your Caprice is setup with obd1, looking through those codes for that vintage, I don't see anything that would reveal an abs problem, I certainly could be wrong. I'd suggest simple things first, will it start? If so, and still abs light, I'd suggest with engine off, and back wheel's chocked for safety, jack up the front end see if you can roll the front wheels, are they free?