Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

03 Cav no start no dash light need some help

Search this Thread

Old October 17th, 2015, 9:35 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03 Cav no start no dash light need some help

I am not a mechanic and have limited skills in this area but I need to get my car back on the road

03 Cavalier 2.2
Here are the problems I have noticed
For a long time I've had a ticking noise coming from my instrument cluster upon turning my key to the on position and some of the gauges are completely broken/occasionally broken
When I started the car up since a few weeks ago, the engine would rev really high
engaging the brakes dimmed my headlights, but I'm not sure if it did much else
When I turn my key 2 positions now, no dash lights come on, but the dome lights and radio do.
Yesterday, When I first noticed turning the key, they engine would turn over but not start. Today it didn't try to turn over.
I know the fuel lines are all good (I just changed the fuel pump a few months ago)
Every single fuse at my door is slightly black, but all still pass a current
I put my actron on it today and it wouldn't even connect and when I tried to turn the engine over, all things electrical turned off

I have been doing some reading and my big idea at the moment is the BCM is bad. There might also be a wiring issue, like a bad ground or bad wire. I feel like its definitely something electrical
Old October 17th, 2015, 11:13 PM
CF Beginner

After feeling kinda special for a minute, I went back and looked at a few things.

The clicking is my relays (lol I shoulda remembered that)
I switched a bunch of them out and nothing changed. I am assuming they are all working fine.
I still have no dash lights, but the car does turn over again after I pulled the battery out and put it back in.