Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

2003 Cavalier - P0300 - Idling funny and shaking when stopped

Search this Thread

Old December 11th, 2011 | 4:00 AM
CF Beginner

Default 2003 Cavalier - P0300 - Idling funny and shaking when stopped

The title sums up the symptoms
This has been happening for a couple of weeks now. When I come to a stop it idles funny and shakes. but it all seems fine when the heater is running.

yesterday the check engine light came on and got it checked and got code P0300. I've changed the IAC valve, spark plugs, coil pack and the rubber boots. a few months ago we got a new fuel pump and filter. when it first started shaking we took it to a shop and they checked the vacuum hoses and said that they were fine. I haven't checked cylinder pressure, but it's not spitting smoke out of the exhaust, so I'm hoping that's a good sign.

I'm not very good with cars and any help would be much appreciated.

EDIT: in addition to seeming fine when the heater is running, it only shakes when in gear. when it is in park or neutral it still idles funny but doesn't shake.

Last edited by Fed51; December 11th, 2011 at 4:02 AM. Reason: additional details
Old December 11th, 2011 | 9:53 AM
CF Veteran

Welcome to the forum. What was the reason for the "new fuel pump and filter" and all the rest that you replaced? What do you mean by heater running? Depending on the air delivery mode, the A/C compressor may run when you turn on the blower. Is the A/C compressor running when it doesn't shake?
Old December 11th, 2011 | 10:00 AM
CF Beginner

fuel pump went out, wife was driving home from work one night and it just died on her.

when I have the heat blowing, and I stop, the idle is stable and the car does not shake. mode doesn't seem to matter, defog, defog/feet, feet/upper body, as long as it's blowing it's calm. and the a/c isn't active. it's winter.