Equinox & Terrain These SUVs offers a smaller, sportier stance than the Trailblazer, all without compromising the SUV abilities.

Chevrolet Equinox
Platform: Theta

Throttle body replacement

Search this Thread

Old December 30th, 2014, 10:39 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Throttle body replacement

I am an engineer and have a 2010 Equinox, bought it new in 2010, and now has 80,000 miles and here is the list of troubles so far...
  • burns oil
  • timing belt failed
  • fuel pump leaks gas into engine
  • throttle body control failure

This is a ridiculous list of mechanical failures for a 4 year old car that has had regular oil changes, no accidents, and is driven exclusively on the highway 60 miles/day to work and back. Very easy mileage, the brake pads are not even worn enough yet to need replacement.

The leaking fuel pump allowed fuel into the crankcase and corroded the timing chain (Chevy admitted to that one and after two visits to the dealer and $200 in checkout fees they agreed to replace it under recall). The would not admit the following though. Having fuel in the crankcase also contributed to premature wearing of the cylinder piston rings, and valves, causing excessive oil burning. The engine sucks about a quart every 1,000 miles, which is way too much.

The recent throttle sensor failure (see attached) cost $440 since Chevy designed the sensor to be integrated into the throttle body (nice thinking engineers). This simple resistive element part also should have lasted much longer than it did, which makes me think they must be buying these parts in China and consumers are not aware of the poor quality of these components until they failure prematurely.

All in all, as an engineer and experienced mechanic, I am very upset with GM. They need to vastly improve their component quality and engineering.

I am going back to Fords, at least I have some success with these and much greater confidence in their engineering.