Express, Savana & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse.

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

1992 G30 Van 5.8L V8 overheating but not?

Search this Thread

Old August 6th, 2024, 8:23 AM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1992 G30 Van 5.8L V8 overheating but not?

Last edited by ablewaker; August 6th, 2024 at 8:29 AM. Reason: don't see my original post other than title and pic
Old August 6th, 2024, 8:29 AM
CF Beginner

Recently bought 1992 Chevy G30 5.7L V8. with 77k miles. . . . I am a newbie at DIY mechanical fixes / maintenance. Records indicate Previous owners seemed to do all schedule maintenance and take good care of her. She runs choppy and variably at idle and lower speeds (I'm told that's fairly normal for these generation?)
The main issue right now: She is overheating and I'm not sure why or what order of fixes, checks, etc I should try to go in.
It takes her less and less time to become VERY hot. Even though the temp gauge is reading all normal engine temps, the heat is noticeable and almost unbearable in the dash area. Warning Light comes on coinciding with the overheating, and goes off once she's cooled down and operating normally for a short while at lower speeds. Within about 4-5 mins of driving over 50mph she begins to overheat quickly.
Coolant levels checked and are good. Fan seems to be operating normally. One kid doing a battery test (confirmed battery and alternator are good) suggested its running rich, and also needs a tune up and that would fix the overheating problem? I'm fearing worse (aka manifold or gasket leaks or worse) but want to stay positive. ANY advice or discussion is very welcome. thanks all!

Last edited by ablewaker; August 6th, 2024 at 8:34 AM.
Old August 6th, 2024, 9:20 AM
CF Veteran

Received 224 Likes on 198 Posts