Express, Savana & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse.

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

Lifter Noise and Low Compression... any ideas?

Search this Thread

Old August 8th, 2021, 10:37 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lifter Noise and Low Compression... any ideas?

Hi all-

This is my first time owning a chevy. I have a 5.7 v8 in my 96 g30 box van. When I bought it, I thought I was going to need to replace the whole engine. But as I've been tinkering, I'm starting to think I might be able to save this engine after all.

Here's the situation: cylinder 2 has low compression (30 psi). All the other cylinders are good, over 150 psi. I did a wet compression test and it stayed at 30 so I'm guessing its a valve train issue. When it's running, the engine makes a clattering noise only on the top end at that cylinder. It sounds a lot like lifter tick to me, and it doesn't go away when the engine is warmed up. It's consistently ticking at idle, when revving, and when letting off the throttle.

Are these problems related? Is it possible that a bad lifter could cause low compression? Or is it possible for a stuck valve to cause lifter tick? I haven't been able to find any forums or videos that answer this question.

Here's some other context about the overall state of the engine. I already replaced spark plugs, wires, distributor cap and rotor, and the ignition system is running great. The spark plug in cylinder 2 was shot when I replaced it. I tested fuel pressure and it's good. The check engine light is on, but the only code that comes up is for an oxygen sensor circuit. No misfire codes. There is a pretty substantial oil leak at the base of the distributor where it goes into the intake manifold. I've been waiting to address that until I know if I need to do a full engine swap. In the meantime, I'm just keeping the oil topped off.

Any help is super appreciated!