Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

2000 GMC K3500 454 Power Issues

Search this Thread

Old March 13th, 2021, 8:47 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 GMC K3500 454 Power Issues

Hello everyone,

I am desperately in need of help. This is my first time writing a post, I read tons of them but can't put my finger on what my truck's problem is.

I have a 2000 K3500 with 454 Vortec. Love this truck and just want it to run well. Right now it has major power issues. It starts fine but won't idle by itself right away, I have to hold the gas until it warms up a bit and then it will idle fine at around 500 rpm.
It will drive fine for awhile and then randomly just loose power, really bad, shaking the whole truck, barely moving. If I hit the gas many times sometimes it will get back to normal, sometimes it will start revving really high but barely moving, almost like if I was on neutral.
And if I am towing, well, it's not towing much. It will be fine for a while but can't go uphill. As soon as I get uphill it will do the same, lose complete power, sometimes revving pretty high but not moving. It almost feel like a potato in the exhaust.
I replaced everything I could think of, is there anybody who has the same problem and found the fix?

Here is what I replaced: New fuel pump, new fuel pressure regulator, new fuel filter, new cap distributor, new rotor, new ICM, new ignition coil, new spark plugs wires - Everything is ACDelco. New air filter. I had replaced the 8 injectors 2 years ago with re-manufactured Bosh injectors, I replaced the distributor shaft back then as well. The truck was running great after replacing the injectors but I always had the power issue going uphill while towing.

I get a P1351 code when reading the computer with my little OBDII reader (the one you use with your phone)