General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

305 Small Block Exhaust Port Size

Search this Thread

Old August 16th, 2017 | 2:14 PM
CF Beginner

Default 305 Small Block Exhaust Port Size

Hi all,

I'm from Nottingham in the UK and have a 305 Small Block (1990 Cast Number 14093627) installed in AC Cobra replica. I need to purchase some new header gaskets but I am not sure whether I need the 1.50 or 1.55 inch gaskets.

My supplier suggested I take off the exhaust manifold and measure the ports but I wondered if any of you kind people would know which exhaust gasket I need based on the engine details.

Apologies if this is a daft question but I'm a little new to the mighty Chevrolet blocks!

Thanks in advanced
Andy

Last edited by Andrew Bennett; August 16th, 2017 at 2:18 PM.
Old August 16th, 2017 | 2:25 PM
CF Monarch

1.5" is what you need
Old August 16th, 2017 | 3:28 PM
CF Beginner

Thanks Kevin, I saw quite a few comments on other websites that suggested either but it wasn't always clear which small block they were referring to. I'll order the 1.5's
Old August 16th, 2017 | 3:53 PM
CF Monarch

You're going to have to pull the exhaust manifolds anyway, but small block chevy heads are what they are.
Old August 16th, 2017 | 4:30 PM
CF Beginner

Thanks Kevin, the previous owner used some hex bolts, I don't have the tools to take it off as the manifold prevents me getting to them. It would have been easier if they we standard bolts! I also have an oil leak on the radiator cooler so will just get the guys at my local garage to replace both items for me... I have to buy the parts as this is not standard U.K. gear so hence the original question.