Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

5L40E TCU mod

Search this Thread

Old September 16th, 2012, 4:52 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5L40E TCU mod

Hey everyone, I have some transmission tech questions. I'm a mechanical engineer with a background in transmission technology and I also have some background in automotive repair (one of my best friends is an expert mechanic). My knowledge is pretty limited though on some things because I'm fairly young with mainly book knowledge so that's why I'm here

Ok, so I have this older but awesome car with a GM transmission so that's why I'm asking on a Chevy forum. It's a '99 BMW 530d. When it was new, it was the world's fastest diesel car and most efficient luxury car. The automatic transmission is made by GM. It's actually not too bad. The model is A5S390R (BMW#) or 5L40E (GM#). This was in Cadillac models as well but I imagine that a lot of other GM transmissions are similar at least with regards to what I'm trying to do.

I found a 128 page technical service document. It's rather complete as it tells what wires control each solenoid and all of the nine clutches inside. It gives instructions for a complete rebuild.