Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

Fuel Pump Control Module 08 Avalanche

Search this Thread

Old May 1st, 2019, 7:00 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Fuel Pump Control Module 08 Avalanche

Engine light code yielded PO69E Fuel pump control module.....ordered pre programmed replacement based on internet research. Replacement seemed pretty straight forward relative to location of module under spare tire. However under closer inspection the module is not located there....and some indications are it might actually be in the fuel tank itself. I am trying to DYI although I am not a mechanic....but if the module is in the fuel tank I may not have a choice. Any feedback from the collective is greatly appreciated.
Old May 1st, 2019, 7:14 PM
Super Moderator

Received 509 Likes on 469 Posts

post a pic of what you got and the part number.
Old May 1st, 2019, 7:19 PM
CF Beginner

Old May 1st, 2019, 7:19 PM
CF Beginner

Old May 1st, 2019, 9:12 PM
Super Moderator

the service information I have show the fpcm located in front of the fuel tank. This module would require programming after installation.

easiest way to identify if you have a fpcm or not....systems without a fpcm have a fuel pump fuse in the underhood fuse block. system with a fpcm...the relay location is blank.

The only thing in the tank on both is the fuel pump module...ie fuel pump and level sensor....this is not to be confused with a fuel pump CONTROL module which is a computer
Old May 1st, 2019, 10:10 PM
CF Beginner

Thank you tech2! So I pulled the fuse box cover off and found there is a fuel pump fuse.....but that wouldn't explain why the engine light code clearly states fuel pump control module...would it?
Also, are you saying that if the fuel pump fuse is there I wouldn't have the fuel pump control module?

Thanks again for your help