Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

New engine for 67 Impala

Search this Thread

Old April 17th, 2010, 12:29 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New engine for 67 Impala

My dad left me a 67 Impala with a 396 big block when he passed my senior year of high school. Now that I'm out of undergrad and receiving real paychecks, I'm looking into restoring this classic. I've heard good things about new turnkey engines, but I'm not an expert by a long shot. I know the 396 claims 325 hp but I guarantee this thing hasn't produced like that in 30 years.

My question is should I want to get one of these new engines (mildly powered, nothing out of control) what other parts would I likely need to replace to handle a stronger power mill?
Old April 17th, 2010, 3:12 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

if nothin has been done to car for awhile, i would service the rearend, (change fluid, check gears, have specs/tolerances checked.) a big block motor produces alot of torque, hate to see you lose the rearend cause something was wrong. also, if it's automatic, it should be the th400, which is pretty much a bullet proof trans, but it still requires maintenance and a rebuild once in awhile. if it's the 4 speed manual trans, new flywheel, quality clutch set is in order, as well as the pilot bushing. most people don't check or replace this, which can lead to problems. the pilot bushing, if it has one, is pressed into the end of the crankshaft, keeps the tip of trans input shaft from sloppin around. i would also have the syncro's checked/replaced if needed, as well as the fluid. go thru all the spring bushings, ball joints, tie rod ends. sounds like alot, but nothin really spendy or too time consuming. best to be sure things are in order rather than find out the hard and costly way that it isn't.