Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

SBC 350 New to Engine Building

Search this Thread

Old June 5th, 2023, 8:40 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question SBC 350 New to Engine Building

Howdy!

I recently got a SBC 350 gen I, '86 - '95. It has 2 bolt mains, a roller cam, iron heads and nothing else special... Now, I am pretty much completely new to engine building but it has been something that I have wanted to do since I can remember. My current plan so far is to remove the press in studs for the heads (one is currently stripped and figured I might as well try). I know these engines can make about 200hp reving to around 4000. Ultimately my goals for this small block is to get it reving around 6000-6500 (solidly) and making about 350+.

Now the hard part, I am completely new to all of this and I'm looking to build it out with $2000 - $3000 over an extended period of time. I would like to drop a cam, bigger springs, dual sprocket timing gear/chain, maybe the holley sniper system for tuning (this will be long term), and then eventually a turbo in the absolute long run. I know stock bottom ends with this gen sit at around 8.5-9 compression ratio, so ideally I would like to leave that stock, just do a re-ring and hone job.

However, as far as timing gear, roller cam, and springs, I have no idea what to do and would love some thoughts from others. At the moment, I have about $500 - $1000 to offer on these three things (including the pioneer screw in studs for the heads). Could anyone help guide me on picking out a setup for this?

I am willing to search second hand as well.

At the end of all of this, this engine is ultimately to learn and understand new things.
Old June 6th, 2023, 9:28 PM
CF Monarch

Received 263 Likes on 255 Posts