Other All other Chevrolet model related talk within.

1995 silverado 5.7 tbi NIGHTMARE

Search this Thread

Old May 4th, 2014, 3:09 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 silverado 5.7 tbi NIGHTMARE

I have a 1995 k-1500, 5.7 tbi with almost 300,000 miles on it. About a year ago on the highway especially in O.D with heavy throttle I would get a hard ticking ping and completely lose power and have to get out of the throttle to regain power to recover. I started with the simple things.... New Plugs, Wires, and this seemed to help. Eventually I replaced the Entire distributor with no effect. My stepfather had this truck originally and he is a mechanic by trade. He thought that the timing was off. So after replacing the distributor we put a gun on it and finally tweaked the timing and for the most part got rid of the ever slight constant ping that it had. But the Hard ping under heavy fuel load never was remedied. I was worried that because even with the correct timing it still seemed incorrect that perhaps having so many miles the timing chain may be sloppy. Finally out of frustration I Actually took it to the a certified shop and this is what they said. One of the plugs was intermittently fouling so they replaced it, they also said that the truck was not throwing codes, and that it had LOW fuel pressure, they replaced the Filter which was dirty and said that it should run better, but the IN tank pump needed replaced, they also said the timing chain was okay, and that the timing was ever so slight off, this was my doing trying to tweak it enough to get rid of the ping. Having replaced the Fuel pump today there seems to be no change... Here is what it was doing before and after. Once cold I can run this truck with a slight ping and no disrupting of power. after restarting the truck once warm it will all of the sudden lose spark, fuel, or something and act as if the ignition was turned OFF, when on the highway there is enough rpm that it will mostly buc