Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

700r4 lost forward gear but has reverse

Search this Thread

Old March 15th, 2010, 12:05 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 700r4 lost forward gear but has reverse

I am new to trucks/ chevys in general, so I may not know all the terms, but willing to learn. I got this truck from a friend and it lost all forwards gear, only has reverse. It shifts into reverse pretty hard, so my first instinct is to pull the pan and look at the tranny fluid - its clean. So guess I am trying to figure out what other problems it could be ? I have searched but seems I can only find the opposite problem (no reverse, but has forwards gears). I have tried shifting it manually into the forward gears and nothing.

Any ideas/ suggestions would be great
Old March 15th, 2010, 12:07 AM
Super Moderator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

you need a rebuild!.. or get a trans from a junkyard
Old March 15th, 2010, 12:10 AM
CF Beginner

forgot to mention -- its a 1990 GMC 1500 4x4, Ext. Cab. The transmission was used that was put it but the guy said it was rebuilt (a close friend). Also used the torque converter that came with the transmission (not the one that came with the truck).
Old March 15th, 2010, 12:10 AM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by gotstylez
you need a rebuild!.. or get a trans from a junkyard
I was afraid that would be the option, any idea how you lose all the forwards gear but manage to keep reverse ?
Old March 15th, 2010, 12:23 AM
CF Junior Member

I think it's weird. I've always heard that reverse is normally the first go, but never the opposite... Is it a manual or auto trans?
Old March 15th, 2010, 12:25 AM
Super Moderator

Originally Posted by bsballfn172