Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

i need help, please.

Search this Thread

Old December 21st, 2010, 9:54 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default i need help, please.

ok first off, im 19, im new to chevy, my truck is a 1999 silverado 1500 2wd with the vortec v6. single cab short bed, and i love it. just an fyi.

we (me and my dad) replaced my heater core in my truck. the day after we pulled the dash and put the ac/heater assembly back in my dad started puting some stuff back on while i was at church. heres what i think was the problem. i worked on the drivers side of the truck, and we worked on the pass. side. ok so when i was taking off connecters to pull it off, i remeber clearly there was a 8 pin connecter right behind the instrument cluster. well when i came home i found that i couldnt find the other end of that plug...he had already put the dash back in, so i couldnt really go dig for it. thats the only problem i had with the truck since we pulled the dash.

so heres what changed. the shift light doesnt work like it should. i dont have brake lights. and my drl's and headlights come on before i take the parking brake off.

if anyone could please help me that would be great.
Old December 21st, 2010, 1:56 PM
CF Beginner

Default Start Over

Retrace your steps. Take the dash back off. Dont be lazy! Do it right the first time.
Old December 21st, 2010, 2:46 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Yep.
Something was incorrectly hooked back up.
Take it apart and look to see if he maybe plugged that 8 pin connector into something else.
Old December 29th, 2010, 12:48 PM
CF Active Member

Originally Posted by SleepingGiant
Retrace your steps. Take the dash back off. Dont be lazy! Do it right the first time.