Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

'03, front brakes shot, back ones great

Search this Thread

Old August 21st, 2006, 3:24 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '03, front brakes shot, back ones great

hey!
Newbie here, I've got an '03 silverado 1500 4wd with ~20k on it, have had problems with front brakes. The dealer turned the rotors a few months ago ( warranty) and now they're pulsing again. Also it looks like the front pads are shot and there's barely any wear to the rear rotors, almost as if the back ones aren't working.
Any clues as to where the problem is? Is there a proportioning valve on this vehicle? The truck is now out of warranty and I'm wondering if the dealer should re-fix it for free?
tks,
Elvin
Old August 21st, 2006, 5:06 PM
CF Active Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: '03, front brakes shot, back ones great

Wow that's really strange. How many miles are on it now?

I don't know why but all the newer silverados 99-up have great front brakes. Like I'm talking they normally last around 80k miles or more.

As far as the rear brakes not wearing alot well it may be normal depending on the milage because about 70% of the braking force is on the front due to weight shifting and the motor being on the front.
Old August 21st, 2006, 11:22 PM
CF Senior Member

It may be cheap rotors and pads. I have put 2 sets of pads on my 96 in the past 3 years after 75,000 miles, but I have pulled quite a bit without trailer brakes too.
Old August 22nd, 2006, 1:12 AM
CF Active Member

ORIGINAL: kcb37

It may be cheap rotors and pads. I have put 2 sets of pads on my 96 in the past 3 years after 75,000 miles, but I have pulled quite a bit without trailer brakes too.
They are factory rotors. How can they be cheap. [&:]