Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

97 K1500 V6 4.3 Won't Start

Search this Thread

Old January 26th, 2008, 7:37 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 K1500 V6 4.3 Won't Start

This one boggles me, I thought I was a decent weekend mechanic. I need help from the Chevy world. I like my truck, the wife says if it doesn't run, it must go.

The truck ran fine before repair (120k). The repair was Intake Manifold Gasket. I was losing coolant. Since then the Truck never ran again, it cranks only. I gone through alot and replaced lots of parts trying to get the truck to run someday. Yes the distibutor was disturb and set accordingly (checked many times). Since the problems I was having I bought the GM Manual (two Volumes)

Some Vidals:
- Fuel Pressure is 58psi
- Compression avg 150, one low cylinder of 135, and high of 155
- Spark present

Parts Replaced New (AC Delco)
- Battery
- Starter
- Cap / Rotor
- Spark plugs / Wires
- Coil
- Cam postion sensor
- Crank Sensor
- Ignition Module
- Fuel Pressure Regulator
- Fuel Filter
- Distributer Helix Gear

Still no Start

I thougth I could of Hydro locked... I pulled engine and conducted a minor rebuild. There was nothing wrong with the timing. While there I replaced the timing chain and gaskets galor....

all back together Still no Start

Please Help .... Give me ideas
Old January 26th, 2008, 10:53 PM
CF Beginner

Default RE: 97 K1500 V6 4.3 Won't Start

If you disconnected the battery and did work on the ignition system ... there is a good chance that you might have tripped the Vehicle Immobilizer Circuit.
Nothing is going to start that Vehicle until the Immobilizer Circuit is reset.
You should call the Dealer (a Dealership) and tell them what youare going though and ask them if they think your vehicle is Immobilized.