Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Issue with Driverside Front During Braking

Search this Thread

Old July 19th, 2012, 7:56 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Issue with Driverside Front During Braking

Hello All! I hope I am in the correct thread with this post. I have a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado Z71, 4WD, Extended Cab, 5.3L.

About a year ago I was driving in some icy/snowy conditions and went to turn. Well even though my wheels were turned, my truck kept going forward. I am a firefighter and was in route to a call and probably driving too fast. Anyway, I hit a side walk curb on the front driver's side wheel and basically bent my lower a-arm and busted the wheel itself. After about $1000 I had a new wheel and a-arm. Everything was good for a couple of weeks but then I started to notice my brakes, only on that wheel, started grinding. Looking at the rotor I could see a little bit of excessive wear so I took it to Midas and had them take a look at it. After leaving it there for a day they said that from what they could tell there was nothing wrong. Even though I knew they were wrong I went on about my business hoping that they were right. Well I could only take it for so long and then I took it to a non-chain mechanic in my town. They decided to replace all of the rotors and brake pads. Well that fixed it for about 2 weeks and then I started noticing it again. So I took it back to them. They said the "brakepad hardware needed adjustment"...whatever...so they did that and it did make it better for a short time. Then again it came back. I took it back to them 3 or 4 times and it would fix it for a couple days and then nothing. Finally I got tired of it and sort of gave up.